Qld electoral redistribution: Maps of new seats leaked

Proposed redistribution of Queensland’s state electoral districts
Proposed redistribution of Queensland’s state electoral districts

NEW seats have been created in Ipswich, on the Gold Coast, Logan, north of Brisbane, north Queensland and on the Sunshine Coast in a major shake-up of the state's electoral boundaries.

The most dramatic redrawing of the state's electoral boundaries in decades had been due to be announced tomorrow, but leaked online this afternoon.

Maps of the redistribution show several seats have changed boundaries and names, and some have disappeared altogether, including the seats of Indooroopilly and Dalrymple.

The new seats include Ninderry on the Sunshine Coast, Bancroft north of Brisbane, Jordan in Ipswich, Bonney on the Gold Coast, and Hill in north Queensland.

Seats to have been renamed include Mount Isa, which has become Traeger, Glass House, which will be renamed Tibrogargan, Sunnybank, which has been renamed Toohey, Yeerongpilly, which has been renamed Miller and Mt Coot-tha, which has been renamed Maiwar.

Ashgrove will be called Cooper and Brisbane Central will be renamed McConnell.

Dalrymple has been absorbed into three north Queensland seats, with Burdekin renamed McMaster.

Topics:  dalrymple editors picks

News Corp Australia

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

QLD VOTES LIVE: Will this man be the state's first Greens MP?

Michael Bergman and supporters in Maiwar. Picture: Brendan O'Malley

Polling puts Labor marginally ahead of the Liberal National Party

Guilty of torture after domestic reign of terror

After hearing allegations including a caustic soda attack, jurors found Peter Mark Wright guilty of 12 charges.

Brutal zip-tie, caustic soda stories heard before guilty verdicts

QLD VOTES: Where to find your closest ballot box on Saturday

Let us help you find the closest voting booth.

Find out where your best spot is to cast a vote here

Local Partners