More to have their say on FFA's Johnny Warren Medal

FOOTBALL Federation Australia has changed its voting process for the prestigious Johnny Warren Medal, including former players, referees, coaching experts and members of the media on its judging panel.

Former players from the NSL and Hyundai A-League eras (Damien Mori and Nick Carle will also be included, as well as a member of the FFA technical staff, and former winner Ante Milicic.

Match officials from each game, and a senior member of the Australian football media including FFA broadcast partners, print and radio journalists will also vote. The changes were implemented following consultation with all A-League clubs, the Professional Footballers' Association and the Warren Family.

"The family of Johnny Warren applauds the FFA for striving to lift the profile of the Johnny Warren Medal and endorses this new format," said Jamie Warren, the nephew of the late Johnny Warren.

Topics:  a-league ffa

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Footy dad: I can hold my head high

Geoffrey Whittaker says it's 'awesome' to see justice served after enduring a trial this week. He was found not guilty of assault.

'I'm glad I'm not the one that looks like the idiot any more'

Footy fight: Coach accused of spiteful, 'vicious' act

Geoffrey James Whittaker, who has pleaded not guilty to assault charges at a football carnival.

'Sometimes it's appropriate to defend oneself by striking first'

Dad 'head-butted' footy coach during kids' rugby carnival

Geoffrey Whittaker has pleaded not guilty two assault charges. The offences are alleged to have occurred during a children's football carnival in 2016.

Geoffrey James Whittaker pleads not guilty to two assault charges

Local Partners